Why I read like I have never done before.

A question that frequently seems to find itself being shot in my direction more and more is ”what kind of books do you read?”.

I can count within two hands, how many books I have fully read in my entire life. That is how poor my engagement with books are; it’s quite shameful in my opinion. Frankly, I must be quite honest here and say that I do not find pleasure in reading at all.

I won’t hit you with the usual ”Oh, i’m only a visual learner” or ”books just don’t seem to teach me anything” because well that’s actually all just a load of *ahem*. I can admit that I am just a lazy learner; I prefer very fast and effort-less ways to digest information and knowledge.

To all ”visual learners” out there, I am not doubting your methodology or rationale for not reading but I do believe that a balance will provide a much improved knowledge base within that intuitive shell that we all call a brain. I have recently began my ‘quest’ to introduce more reading of all sorts (books, newspapers etc) into my knowledge digestion and it’s very, very boring. Yes, I said boring. When you have to force yourself to do something you don’t enjoy, you will probably not enjoy it… at all.

Fortunately though, I’m already reaping the benefit of this intense consumption of knowledge; I’ve come across important influences for my own work professionally and even in personal life and you know what? It’s becoming addicting. Technology now makes reading so accessible, easy and convenient and it’s definitely a resource we should harness. The more I read, that more I am beginning to erase the negative stigma I have created in my head that is attached to reading.

”The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” – Dr Seuss

TLDR; I’m not a book lover… not even one bit. Starting my personal revelation to introduce more reading of books into my life has already began expanding my knowledge and benefiting me. If you are going to begin investing in one thing today; I encourage you to start reading more.

Feel free to share your own experiences or thoughts on this topic in the comments below!

– Cameron

 

6 thoughts on “Why I read like I have never done before.

  1. I do know some people like you, and they have come to love reading because no one would tell them the story of a popular book or novel. 😄

    I blame magic and adventure for making me love reading.

    Welcome to the club! It’s never too late to start enjoying a good book or story. 🌟

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

